TaxOps

[Webinar] Sales Tax Exemptions: Collect the Tax or Get the Doc (Free CPE credit)

Businesses selling into the resale, wholesale or exempt entity markets fall under a vast web of compliance duties, with the onus on the vendor to get it right. When it comes to sales tax, businesses are best served to “collect the tax or get the doc,” a document that exempts the seller from collection obligations.

But in this era of moving pieces, even that simple directive is not easy. Just as in other areas of sales tax compliance, securing sales tax exemptions is far from tidy. Not every state accepts other states resale certificates; wholesalers can’t rely on their vendors to collect sales tax; and, the multistate jurisdiction certificate is often insufficient.

Join sales tax expert Judy Vorndran in this session to get the tools you need to get sales tax exemptions right. Empower yourself, and your clients, by being aware of these and other exemption and resale certificate issues we’ll cover in this webinar so you don’t get caught under audit.

Learning Objectives
  • Basics of sales tax exemptions
  • State-by-state exemption updates
  • Retailer documentation
  • Outlier states
When:
 
 Wednesday, September 19 - 9:00 am MT/11:00 am ET

Wednesday, November 7 - 10:00 am MT/12:00 noon ET

Cost: Free

CPE credits: 1.0 hour

 

 


On-demand webinars presented by Judy Vorndran

Make Sales Tax a Strategy, Not an Afterthought

How to Determine Sales Tax Nexus

Costly Business of Sales Tax Audits: Tips to Lower Risk and Cost

State audit Triggers: Catch-22 of State Tax Enforcement

How to Manage the Sometime Taxable

Negotiating the Upper Hand in the Sales Tax Appeals Process

Know Which States to File Sales Tax: Create a Nexus Checklist

Sales Tax Gems